Interactive Review 1

A Game I Could Play Forever:

A game I could play forever would be The Sims because it gives me control in a tiny universe, its various expansion packs adds interesting actions and items which keeps the game consistently exciting, and its beautiful graphics is just aesthetically pleasing. The Sims allows the user to create a character or numerous characters and create a story for them and to actually live it out with them. It’s a basic computer game which only requires the click of a mouse to perform the actions within the game. Actions within the game are the same as the actions in the real world, such as meeting the sims needs to use the bathroom, eat food and sleep. There are many rewards that can come out of certain actions. For example, there is a system in The Sims 3 and The Sims 4 that collects lifetime points which can be attained once you adhere to your sims wants. As the lifetime points get higher, the user gets to spend the lifetime points to give their sim a certain advantage such as having a steel bladder, allowing the sim to use the bathroom less, or a fountain of youth potion, which allows the sim to age back to the beginning of the life stage they are at. Complex actions, such as climbing up the metaphoric ladder in their careers, rewards them with bigger prizes such as items that cannot be purchased from The Sims Build Mode.

A Game That Frustrates Me:

 

A game that ever really frustrated me was Flappy Bird. its an app that requires the user to tap on the screen and to direct the bird through the pipes. The tap sensitivity is far too sensitive because depending on how hard the user taps the screen, it could unintentionally hit the pipe which causes the user to lose the game. The graphics also frustrates me because it’s very similar to that of Mario and it just makes me believe the bird isn’t really supposed to be in that setting. The main thing that frustrates me is how easy it is to lose because most times I can’t even g
et my score to the double digits. I’ve even seen people throw their phone is frustration with this game. Although the interaction itself is self explanatory, which is most likely why a lot people became addicted to the game, its tap hypersensitivity makes the game an annoying experience rather than an entertaining one.

About schinnery1996

My name is Shanelle Chinnery and I study Digital Media and Animation at Alfred State College. It’s my third year and the last time this bio was updated was on my very first day of college. I had ended off my previous bio with my desire to grow throughout my years here in Alfred State and with my senior year on the horizon, I’m glad to say I’ve definitely grown since that day. With the variety of classes and mediums I’ve experienced during these three years, I’ve learned what grasps my attention and what strays it away. I came into college with an unclear direction of what I wanted to do in my field and to be quite honest, I’m still not sure what direction I’m going in, but I have a better idea. I enjoy the storytelling aspect of animation, but then again I also enjoy animating in 3D and would love to explore the possibility of voice acting. While I’m uncertain about the exact route of my future, I still take great pride in the how much I’ve changed, art wise. I’ve gained knowledge and experience in endless number of programs I never thought I’d be able to work around, I’ve grown accustomed to digital art rather than traditional pencil to paper art, and most importantly, I’m just a better artist in general. I could say that is my favorite achievement and I can’t wait to see what my future holds in this field.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

