Interactive Design: Thorn Collaborative Write Up

Artist: Colleen Marie Foley

Exhibit: Thorn Collaborative

On April 23rd, 2016, Alfred University’s Fosdick-Nelson gallery held an exhibit entitled “Thorn Collaborative.” The pieces of this exhibit didn’t really tie together in my mind at first, however after further observation and research, I see how it syncs with one another. Foley created this exhibit as a means to question the idea of shared body, memory and identity. As we interact with different people and become accustomed to new people in our lives, we draw from one another and begin to reflect one another and this exhibit was introduced in order to process an understanding.

One piece that truly captured what Foley was going for when introducing this exhibit is entitled Nympha. This piece stood out for obvious reasons, such as the fact that it was the only live piece of art consisting of two females wrapping themselves together in a sort of cocoon. It’s the merging of two bodies and making it one. While it does bring the two together, movement is indeed restricted, which becomes insufferable for both bodies. I believe the message Foley was trying to make clear in this piece is that while extreme closeness and intimacy is something we all attempt to achieve, it’s more about intimacy of the mind rather than just the body because there’s only so much we could do physically.

13161287_1070224856376391_2099994503_o.jpg

Galleries like this are fascinating because it shows that art doesn’t have to fall into the norm that it has to have extravagant colors or spectacular designs in order to be considered art. Simplicity such as molding two people in a cocoon or letters taped to a wall could be considered art, as long as the message is powerful. Foley’s exhibit is a fine example of an art that isn’t as conventional as the art we are accustomed to.

Exhibits such as “Thorn Collaborative” tie back to the Digital Media and Animation major because it challenges us. It challenges us to step outside our comfort zone and look into an art we’re not accustomed to and to possibly experiment with it. As artists, we cannot stick to what we normally do, we have to continue to grow along with the art society we belong to.

About schinnery1996

My name is Shanelle Chinnery and I study Digital Media and Animation at Alfred State College. It’s my third year and the last time this bio was updated was on my very first day of college. I had ended off my previous bio with my desire to grow throughout my years here in Alfred State and with my senior year on the horizon, I’m glad to say I’ve definitely grown since that day. With the variety of classes and mediums I’ve experienced during these three years, I’ve learned what grasps my attention and what strays it away. I came into college with an unclear direction of what I wanted to do in my field and to be quite honest, I’m still not sure what direction I’m going in, but I have a better idea. I enjoy the storytelling aspect of animation, but then again I also enjoy animating in 3D and would love to explore the possibility of voice acting. While I’m uncertain about the exact route of my future, I still take great pride in the how much I’ve changed, art wise. I’ve gained knowledge and experience in endless number of programs I never thought I’d be able to work around, I’ve grown accustomed to digital art rather than traditional pencil to paper art, and most importantly, I’m just a better artist in general. I could say that is my favorite achievement and I can’t wait to see what my future holds in this field.
This entry was posted in Lectures & Workshops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

