Visual Vocabulary Book

VVBook

Emphasisrepetition

Valueunity

balanceSpace

closurePrint

Texture_pattern

chair adj levelcolor

Mandala_jpegFigure copy

For the visual vocabulary book, the task was to illustrate 14 principles and elements of design. There were several ways of putting the images together. I chose Japanese book binding because it seemed challenging and interesting. I included the main components of a Japanese binding book. However, I did the binding a bit differently to make my book stand out a bit.

Illustrating the principles and elements in such a way that the image defines itself is a bit challenging. The element/principle I found most difficult illustrating was unity. Unity becomes apparent in art when the combination of elements in a piece form a balanced, harmonious and complete whole. Unity in a piece is what makes the work pleasing to the eye. In the beginning, this definition was very vague and I continuously illustrated it incorrectly. Now, however, the definition of unity is much more clear.

The most difficult part of the craftsmanship of the book was the construction of both the front and back cover. Cutting out the cardboard was pretty easy compared to everything else. Poking holes into the rectangle part of the book was moderately difficult because, since the holes are so small, cutting them out and making sure they came out without teary edges was challenging. The most difficult part of the construction process was taping the cover up, the rectangle and the square covers. Due to an unfortunate deprivation of sleep and my already weak understanding of crafting, taping that altogether seemed really confusing at the time, even though it now seems more simple than I originally saw it.

I think the purpose of constructing this visual vocabulary book is pretty clear. We constructed this to not only show we understand the elements and principles of design, but so we can have it engraved in our brain in such a manner that these elements and principles will be apparent in all of our future pieces. Also, we constructed this into a book so our craftsmanship continues to grow rather than get weak.

About schinnery1996

My name is Shanelle Chinnery and I study Digital Media and Animation at Alfred State College. It’s my third year and the last time this bio was updated was on my very first day of college. I had ended off my previous bio with my desire to grow throughout my years here in Alfred State and with my senior year on the horizon, I’m glad to say I’ve definitely grown since that day. With the variety of classes and mediums I’ve experienced during these three years, I’ve learned what grasps my attention and what strays it away. I came into college with an unclear direction of what I wanted to do in my field and to be quite honest, I’m still not sure what direction I’m going in, but I have a better idea. I enjoy the storytelling aspect of animation, but then again I also enjoy animating in 3D and would love to explore the possibility of voice acting. While I’m uncertain about the exact route of my future, I still take great pride in the how much I’ve changed, art wise. I’ve gained knowledge and experience in endless number of programs I never thought I’d be able to work around, I’ve grown accustomed to digital art rather than traditional pencil to paper art, and most importantly, I’m just a better artist in general. I could say that is my favorite achievement and I can’t wait to see what my future holds in this field.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

